3.12.04 – (LAA) – NBC and Whitely Penn and Ass Certify Results of the APFA National Officer Runoff Election

This is Linda Herod-Rivas, Chairperson of the APFA National Ballot Committee, with a special APFA Hotline Update for Friday, March 12, 2004.

The APFA National Ballot Committee in conjunction with Whitely Penn and Associates, our outside election agency, has certified the results of the APFA National Officer Runoff Election.

Per the APFA Constitution, recount of the election results was required since no candidate won by a margin of 10% or more. The recount has been completed, and the results are as follows:

For President:
Tommie Hutto-Blake received 7,393
John Ward received 7,398
There were 27 blanks and 5 voids.

For Vice President:
Ted Bedwell received 6,784 votes.
Brett Durkin received 7,827 votes.
There were 210 blanks and 2 voids.

For Secretary:
Greg Hildreth received 7,729 votes.
Linda Lanning received 6,864 votes.
There were 228 blanks and 2 voids.

For Treasurer:
Juan Johnson received 6,897 votes.
Cathy Hermann Lukensmeyer received 7,718 votes.
There were 207 blanks and 1void.

The total number of valid votes cast was 14,823.

We would like to thank all of the national officer candidates who participated in both the primary and runoff election. It takes a lot of energy and courage to take part in an election process. We congratulate the newly elected APFA National Officers, who will assume office on April 1, 2004 for a four-year term.

Now, please stay on the line for the remainder of the APFA Hotline.

Hotline for National Officer Run-off Election

This is Linda Herod-Rivas, chairperson of the APFA National Ballot Committee.

The National Ballot Committee in conjunction with Whitley, Penn & Associates have counted the National Officer Run-off ballots.

For President,
Tommie Hutto-Blake received 7,335 votes,
John Ward received 7,342 votes,
there were 69 blanks and 6 voids.

For Vice President,
Ted Bedwell received 6,733 votes,
Brett Durkin received 7,770 votes,
there were 246 blanks and 3 voids.

Among the candidates for Secretary,
Greg Hildreth received 7,671 votes and
Linda Lanning received 6,806 votes.
There were 272 blanks and 3 voids.

In the Treasurer’s race,
Juan Johnson received 6,847 votes,
Cathy Hermann Lukensmeyer received 7,664 votes,
there were 239 blanks and 2 voids.

The total number of valid votes cast was 14,752.

Per Article VI, Section 5.m. of the APFA Constitution, should the margin of victory in a ballot count be ten percent (10%) or less and in the event a Candidate challenges the accuracy of such ballot count in writing to the Secretary within fourteen (14) days following the Canvassing Date, a recount shall occur and the APFA shall assume all related costs.

Since a 10% margin of victory was not achieved in any of the National Officer positions, a recount will be conducted by hand in the presence of the candidates and their designated observers by members of the APFA National Ballot Committee and Whitley, Penn & Associates, the APFA’s outside election agency.

The initial results of the run-off election are posted on the opening page of the APFA Website. Once the recount is complete, the certified results will be recorded on this hotline and posted on the APFA Website.

The National Ballot Committee is working to secure hotel meeting rooms to conduct the recount. It is hoped that the recount will take place on Thursday, March 11th.

Please continue to monitor the hotline and website for updates.

Now…please stay on the line for the APFA Hotline.

1004 West Euless Boulevard
Euless, Texas 76040

Phone: (817) 540-0108
Fax: (817) 540-2077


M-F: 9:00AM - 5:00PM (CST)

APFA Phone Reps
M-F: 7:00AM - 7:00PM (CST)

After-Hours Live Chat
M-F: 3:00PM - 11:00 PM (CST)
Sat-Sun: 9:00AM - 5:00PM (CST)

APFA Events

Currently, no scheduled events...