Account  |  Log In

9.11.12 – (LAA) – Remembering 9.11.01


Remembering Our Fallen Heroes – September 11, 2012

Dear Flight Attendants,

Today is a difficult day for our profession, our industry, our nation, and the world. The awful attacks of September 11, 2001 affected us all in a very profound way and the eleven years since have been full of challenges that continue to test our collective resolve. Although we always carry in our hearts the friends and colleagues we lost that day, anniversaries give us the opportunity to pause, reflect, and honor their memories as one family.

As we look back at the beautiful lives that were cut short by that senseless act of terrorism, we can put into perspective contract negotiations, bankruptcies, mergers, and furloughs. We remember that life is fragile and the best measure of wealth we have is the company we keep. For our membership, that means our brothers and sisters not only on American Airlines property but across our industry. Flight crews all over the world enjoy a very special bond that has grown stronger and deeper as a result of tragedies like the September 11th attacks.

Earlier this year, more than 600 unionized workers who died in those attacks were inducted into Labor’s International Hall of Fame. Among the featured speakers at the induction ceremony was Cathie Ong, sister of APFA member and one of the heroes of that day, Betty Ong. In her remarks, Cathie recalled that “[Betty] believed in the saying that ‘an injury to one is an injury to all.'” For a union member, that is a very fitting creed and Betty’s is an example we should all strive to emulate, today and always.

American Airlines Flight 11 John Ogonowski, Thomas McGuinness, Barbara Arestequi, Jeffrey Collman, Sara Low, Karen Martin, Kathleen Nicosia, Betty Ong, Jean Roger, Dianne Snyder, Madeline “Amy” Sweeney

United Airlines Flight 93 Jason Dahl, Leroy Homer, Lorraine Bay, Sandra Bradshaw, Wanda Green, CeeCee Lyles, Deborah Welsh

United Airlines Flight 175 Victor Saracini, Michael Horrocks, Robert Fangman, Amy Jarret, Amy King, Michael Tarrou, Kathryn Laborie, Alfred Marchand, Alicia Titus, Jesus Sanchez, Marianne MacFarlane

American Airlines Flight 77 Charles Burlingame, David Charlebois, Michele Heidenberger, Jennifer Lewis, Kenneth Lewis, Renee May

Today we remember our colleagues, our families, and our friends. Please join your APFA leadership in honoring our fallen heroes.

In unity and solidarity,

Laura, Marcus, Jeff and Greg 

Miami VEOP Venue Change – Embassy Suites Miami Int’l Airport – September 13, 2012

Due to the tremendous response to the Voluntary Early Out Program (VEOP) meeting scheduled for Miami this Thursday, September 13th, the location has been changed to the Embassy Suites Miami International Airport.  If you are interested in the Early Out Program or Travel Separation Program and would like more information, join APFA’s Retirement Specialists Patrick Hancock and Jackie Phillips this Thursday from 11am to 2pm at the Embassy Suites Miami International Airport. APFA will pay for hotel parking and the hotel will provide airport shuttle service for commuters.
Thursday September 13, 2012

Embassy Suites Miami International Airport
3974 NW South River Drive
Miami, FL 33126

APFA will pay for hotel parking and the hotel will provide airport shuttle service for commuters.
AmericanAirlines + US Airways
“Our Future Depends On It”

Leslie Mayo
APFA National Communications Coordinator

1004 West Euless Boulevard
Euless, Texas 76040

Phone: (817) 540-0108
Fax: (817) 540-2077


M-F: 9:00AM - 5:00PM (CT)

APFA Phone Reps
M-F: 7:00AM - 7:00PM (CT)

After-Hours Live Chat
M-F: 3:00PM - 11:00 PM (CT)
Sat-Sun: 9:00AM - 5:00PM (CT)

APFA Events